Every natural gemstone is unique. Each reflects the story of its arduous journey from deep inside the earth to a cherished object of adornment. Yet all diamonds share certain features that allow us to compare and evaluate them. These features are called the 4C's. Beauty and value of a gemstone is mainly affected by these 4 factors. Therefore before buying a gemstone, it is necessary to learn about them to pick the best gem for yourself !


Colored gemstones like Rubies & Emeralds are known for their pleasant color, therefore richer and better the color shade better the quality ! Color of a gemstone is determined by 3 main factors: > HUE: It can be described as the basic color of the gemstone. Ex: Yellow, Blue, Green, etc. Hue is further classified into Primary and secondary hues. Ex: Bluish Green, here Green is the primary color and Blue is the secondary color.

gemstone color gradingHue Color Chart

gemstone hue colors

hue color shades

> TONE: is the amount of black in a specific color. Its is measuring a color on the scale from light to dark.

gemstone tone

> SATURATION: It is the amount of hue in a color. In common words it is a transition from Black & White to Color.

gemstone saturation


Natural gemstones are not created in laboratories with perfection, but are created by mother earth with immense power thrust within them; therefore they might contain inclusions, which affect the clarity of the gemstone. Lesser the inclusions, rarer the gemstone. Though there is no standard clarity measurement scale for Colored gemstones, Diamonds are graded on a fixed clarity grading scale. Colored stone cannot be graded on a fixed scale because the possibility of inclusions vary from stone to stone, Ex: It is more obvious to find inclusions in emeralds than in blue sapphires. Even the best quality of emerald might have few noticeable inclusions. Therefore the grading scale vary from gemstone to gemstone. 

gemstone clarity scale


A polished gemstones beauty lies in its complex relationship with light: how light strikes the surface, how much enters the gemstone, and how, and in what form light returns to your eye. All these attributes depend on the quality of cut which in turn depends on the perfection of the human being shaping and faceting the gemstone. Cut evaluation includes judging the shape, type of cut and quality of cut & polish. Experienced Lapidaries cut a gemstone to bring out the best of it !

Attributes of Cut:


common shapes

Type of Cuts:

type of cut

Quality of Cut:

Overall quality of cut depends on its Quality of Cut, Quality of Polish & Symmetry alignment.

gemstone cut grading

Carat Weight

Carat is a weight measurement unit, which is generally used to weigh gemstones. One carat equals 200 milligrams in weight. For gemstones under one carat, each carat is divided into 100 points – similar to pennies in a dollar. 0.75 ct. = 75 points, 1/2 ct. = 50 points.

'Beauty is in the eyes of its beholder'

The 4 C's provide a way to objectively compare and evaluate gemstones, but numbers alone can’t describe a gemstones' mysterious and captivating beauty – for that, you’ll have to visit our showroom to see one for yourself.

No products

To be determined Shipping
$ 0 Total

Prices are tax excluded

Check out